Posted on Wednesday, June 8th, 2016 at 2:00 pm
The families of employees who die due to a workplace accident or occupational illness are entitled to the following death benefits under the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act:
Which family members can get benefits?
Death benefits include:
Joe Miller, Esq. has been helping injured workers get justice when work injuries or work illnesses happen. His work includes representing the families of loved ones who died due to a workplace accident or illness. He fights for spouse, children, and even parents to get payment for lost wages, funeral expenses, and transportation costs. Call attorney Joe Miller at 888-694-1671 and ask for Joe Miller, or email email@example.com.
Posted on Friday, September 4th, 2015 at 10:42 am
Disabled widows and widowers
Normally, the widow just gets 400 weeks (now 500 weeks) in wage benefits from the date of death of the worker. But if the widow or widower is disabled, then the widow or widower gets benefits for the rest of his or her lifetime unless they remarry. (more…)
Posted on Friday, August 28th, 2015 at 10:31 am
Those who are considered a dependent for worker’s compensation purposes are not necessarily going to be the same as for other situations. There are separate laws for when someone dies with a will, without a will, through the wrongful death of another and through a work-related injury or illness. Do not assume that because you are a dependent for one situation that you will be a dependent for worker’s compensation death cases. And don’t assume the opposite either – meaning that if you’re not a dependent for non-work matters that you won’t be a dependent for a worker’s compensation case. (more…)
Posted on Monday, August 24th, 2015 at 10:27 am
When it can be shown that the decedent’s death was related to the worker’s job injury or occupational illness, the beneficiaries are entitled to death benefits according to the following priorities, according to NCGS 97-39:
1. Persons who are wholly dependent on the deceased employee’s earnings for support at the time of the accident get the full compensation benefits in equal shares and nobody else has a claim. (more…)
Posted on Friday, August 21st, 2015 at 10:06 am
The first thing the statute (North Carolina General Statutes: 97-38) looks to, when the cause of death is related to the worker’s work injury or occupational illness, is the timing of the death in relation to the injury or illness. If the timing was within six years of the date of the injury or illness or within two years of the final disability determination date (whichever is later), then the statute dictates who gets the money as follows: (more…)
Posted on Wednesday, August 19th, 2015 at 10:04 am