Before any North Carolina resident can operate a motorcycle in North Carolina, they must meet the requirements of the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.
Drivers must have a valid North Carolina license. This can be a regular license, a commercial driver’s license or a full provisional license. Full provisional licenses are for drivers under the age of 18.
Drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 can get a motorcycle learner’s permit. To get this motorcycle learner’s permit, you need to apply through the NC DMV. Learner permits are issued for a 12 month period. They can be renewed for an additional 6 months. You also need a parent or legal guardian to sign for approval.
Drivers must pass certain tests: To get the motorcycle learner’s permit or an “endorsement” on one of the approved licenses, drivers must pass the approved North Carolina motorcycle driver’s test.
The above three tests are all you need to get the learner’s permit. To get the “endorsement,” you need to pass a motorcycle skills test. This is a hands-on test where you will have to get on a motorcycle and show you know the core requirements for riding and operating it.
If you’re applying for an “endorsement” and you’re under 18, you will need to show you passed an approved motorcycle driver’s training course. These courses are offered by the North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Foundation and by the North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Education Program
You have to pay the appropriate fees.
Contact Joe Miller at Joe Miller Law, Ltd., by calling (888) 694-1671 if you or a loved one has been hurt in a motorcycle accident or any other type of vehicle accident. Joe Miller will evaluate the cause of the crash and pursue your claims with the proper insurance carriers and before a jury, if needed. He’s helped thousands of personal injury victims over the years, and he is ready to put this experience to work helping you.